RSS Feed

Untitled Poem #3

I wrote something about a month ago. Some of you may know that I dabble in poetry as well. I figured I may do something a little different. And share it here. Since it seems to go with my blog’s black Love theme. Happy New Year. And please enjoy:

Image

I know why she stood straight on that auction block

Shoulders never slumping,

Head held high—her humanity holding her together.

Erect, poised, spirit a flutter in the darkest of circumstances. It seemed almost as if she might take flight. But how can that be? When Master declared her somewhere between ½ and ¾ as much alive as he? A system constructed to break her down and yet up she stood?

Because she had a secret! She knew her heart beat so that he’d have a rhythm to fall asleep to. She’d breathed out enough air to understand how hers gave him life. Her spinal cord aligned so that his fingers would have a trail to follow.  Neurons fired so that she could remember exactly how many hairs sat at the right corner of his bottom lip.

She nursed the memory of nestling a King in her bosom. So no amount of bondage or constitutional statutes could reduce her pulse to 3/5 of what she knew it to be. And if she ever reduced her Love fractionally, they’d both cease to exist that day and forevermore. A whole woman Loved by a whole man.

I know why she stood straight on that auction block

Shoulders never slumping,

Head held high—her humanity holding her together.

About The Black Soliloquist

Summer Rain. Whispers me to sleep and wakes me up again. Sometimes I swear I hear it call my name. You wash away the pain. My summer rain.

One response »

  1. Great poem boo. There is no strength like a black woman and black man united. They stood tall for each other!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

