RSS Feed

11 Famous Men I’d Legitimately Date…

…If I were–you know–single!

11. Taylor Lautner

The Rundown

|age: 19

|sign: aquarius

|where you know him from: twilight saga

Admittedly, this one is completely superficial. Although I found Jacob’s immaturity a little obnoxious while reading the Twilight Series, Taylor “Hotner” brings a boy-next-door lovableness to the character and makes some of the movies (cough cough New Moon) a bit more bearable. It’s no wonder everyone’s #teamwerewolf! And I’ve always admired how he gained weight just for the role. When the new directors of Twilight threatened to replace him, he completely committed to changing his body. That’s true dedication to the eyes of women everywhere!

1o. Jamie Foxx

The Rundown

|age: 43

|sign: sagittarius

|where you know him from: the bench rider turned star player Willie Beamen in Any Given Sunday

Quite typical of a Sagittarius, Foxx loves to laugh and doesn’t take life too seriously. And in the looks department, let’s just say he’s come a long way since Bunz in Booty Call. So it wouldn’t be exactly love at first sight with Foxx. But the man is undeniably talented. Singing. Acting. Comedy. What doesn’t this man do–and do well? After his stellar performance in Ray, my respect for Foxx sky rocketed. In order to best portray the troubled, blind crooner, Foxx agreed to glue his eyes shut for the role. Which won him the 3rd Academy Award awarded to a black male for best actor in a leading role. He’s one man who knows how to use what God’s given him–and I will always Love him for that!

9. Nate Parker

The Rundown

|age: 31

|sign: scorpio

|where you know him from: the quick-witted bad boy Henry Lowe in Great Debaters

I don’t know much about this kid but I LOVE the roles he plays. He blessed the screen as book-toting nomad bad-ass Henry Lowe in Great Debaters, Alicia Keys’ stubborn love interest in The Secret Life of Bees, and the security guard with a conscious in Felon. He always plays this character who’s got the perfect blend of bad and good, masculinity and intelligence, strength and emotionalism. In other words, he’s  a good guy but he ain’t no pussy. And it makes me wonder if he’s like that in real life. It doesn’t hurt that he looks damn good in suspenders and driver’s caps! *sigh*

8. Will Smith

The Rundown

|age: 42

|sign: virgo

|where you know him from: your favorite womanizing police officer Mike Lowry

From his family life to his many talents in front of and behind the camera, the Fresh Prince turned out to be a rather respectable man–and a handsome one. I find it most attractive that Will Smith and family use their privileged position in society to teach the world and make it a better place. Movies like Ali, Pursuit of Happyness, I Am Legend, and Seven Pounds have a surprisingly profound positive message. And there’s nothing sexier than a man with a cause and the drive to change the things he sees around him. Smith is a true role model! If you’re wondering why he’s so low on the list, I can’t necessarily say that I agree with him and Jada’s arrangement. Even though they’re not really swingers, Smith admitted in an interview that they are allowed to cheat on one another to a certain extent. I don’t think I’d last very long in a relationship with that arrangement.

7. Common

The Rundown

|age: 39

|sign: pisces

|where you know him from:

Maybe you’re familiar with 1 of his 8 rap albums or you might know him for carrying Alicia Keys down 30 flights of stairs in “Smokin’ Aces” (a rather athletic feat if you ask me!)

Common reminds me a lot of my first real boyfriend. He’s the cool nerd. The kind of guy that probably studies more than you do but he can still dress his a-s-s off. And who doesn’t get weak in the knees for intelligent men with smart fashion sense? Unfortunately, since he’s a Pisces and I’m an Aquarius, I don’t foresee any wedding bells in our fake future. But I’d have at least dated him seriously for a while before I realized it just wouldn’t work out.

6. Wale

The Rundown

|age: 26

|sign: virgo

|where you know him from: as a member of Jay-Z’s Roc Nation and Ricky Rozay’s Maybach Music

This one may come as a surprise to some of you. Wale is hardly the most attractive guy I’ve ever seen but he may definitely be the realest. He’s the kind of guy that slips up on you–especially if he’s your friend first. Not only is Wale a poet (I LOVE poets) but he has a lyrical balance that I haven’t seen since Tupac. He creates a nice combination of music for  entertainment and music for life. And I all the way respect his hustle.

5. Shia LaBeouf

 The Rundown

|age: 25

|sign: gemini

|where you know him from: the alien activity and hot-babe magnet Sam Witwicky

Despite what it may look like, Labeouf has had to overcome a lot of adversity to get where he’s at today. He actually became an actor because his family didn’t have very much money. I’m attracted to a man who hasn’t had everything handed to him his whole life and knows the importance of a good work ethic. Labeouf definitely fits the bill. In addition to being an all-around interesting guy with an incredible background story. I’m sure the conversations would be amazing! And though he wasn’t much of a looker as a kid (remember Even Stevens?), he’s grown into a rather sexy young man.

4. Aaron McGruder

The Rundown

|age: 37

|sign: gemini

|where you know him from: the creator of everyone’s favorite black cartoon family, The Freemans

The Boondocks, particularly the first 2 seasons, is some of the strongest and most controversial satirical writing in history (yes, I feel that strongly about it). So it should come as no surprise that I have a mini crush on its creator. Though he’s dashingly handsome, I’d rather pick his brain. From remaining “cautiously pessimistic” about Obama’s presidency to calling Condoleezza Rice a mass murderer at the NAACP image awards in 2002, Mcgruder knows how to attract controversy because he has a hard time keeping his mouth shut when he feels strongly about something. I think debating McGruder on his politics and his methods would probably be the biggest turn-on of my life.

3. John Legend

The Rundown

|age: 32

|sign: capricorn

|where you know him from: the one who makes you get up and dance every time you hear “Green Light”

This one pains me a little because I don’t think it would work out between the 2 of us–at least not astrologically. But as a man John Legend, born John Stephens, is definitely a force to be reckoned with. Not only does he create some of the greatest music in history with a sound that would make you think of another time period but he’s also an avid humanitarian. Legend spreads his good fortune and faith all across the world through countless acts of community service.

2. Barack Obama

The Rundown

|age: 49

|sign: leo

|where you know him from: extending your health insurance coverage to age 26

I’m not going to debate his politics or what he’s done right or wrong as 44th President of the United States because at the end of the day–he’s just a man. But Obama has an unadulterated,  never duplicated cool. His swag might just be on infinity and beyond! From calling Kanye West a jackass in front of the press to fist-bumping his wife, there’s a certain part of Obama that clearly doesn’t give an eff about tact or cameras. And that makes him a genuine and relatable human being. But what I appreciate most about Obama, if nothing else, is his clear love and devotion to his wife–a strong black woman–and his family. He has set a tremendous example for men everywhere. And you gotta love it!

1. Tupac Shakur

The Rundown

|age: 40

|sign: gemini

|where you know him from: the troubled gangsta Bishop who wanted nothing more than to have the Juice

Tupac Shakur is one of my favorite people who ever lived. It hurts me that he’s not actually around today. I think a lot of things would change because unlike most gangster rappers, Tupac was a warrior. He understood the power of the spoken word and the power of influence. He understood the struggle of the black man and the black woman in America. He had a real voice, a controversial voice, an uplifting voice, an encouraging voice. Overcoming a lot of adversity to act as a voice for a people who had no voice, he embodied the spirit of a Black Panther. And though some of his beliefs and actions were questionable (like his womanizing), he also died very young before we got to see how everything would turn out. I would have loved to see a 30 or 35-year-old matured Tupac. I earnestly believe he’d be doing a lot of good in this world.

***Other notables include: Andre 3000, Mos Def, Lupe Fiasco, Denzel Washington, Spike Lee, Idris Elba, Dwayne Wade, Eric Jerome Dickey, Black Ice, and maybe even Dr. Cornel West (you know–like 30 years ago)

About The Black Soliloquist

Summer Rain. Whispers me to sleep and wakes me up again. Sometimes I swear I hear it call my name. You wash away the pain. My summer rain.

2 responses »

  1. I love you taylor lautner

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 11 Famous Men I’d Legitimately Date… | shinashakur's Blog

Leave a Reply

